hiltcertified.blogg.se

One hour of code
One hour of code




  1. ONE HOUR OF CODE HOW TO
  2. ONE HOUR OF CODE CODE
  3. ONE HOUR OF CODE TV

ONE HOUR OF CODE TV

CS built your phone, the internet, your favorite games, movies, and tv shows. CS helped us eradicate diseases and enables us to explore the depth of space.CS helps us imagine ancient civilizations and build the cities of the future. I mean…if it was easy, everyone would be fluent in at least one language.īut for younger kids, even right in a classroom, this is a great activity.CS has helped unlock mysteries in math and medicine, it’s been used to create art.

ONE HOUR OF CODE HOW TO

Sure, if you’re an adult this is probably not the best way to learn how to program.Īnd obviously anyone who knows anything about programming knows it takes much, much, MUCH longer than one hour to learn how to code. Nonetheless, this tutorial definitely serves as a great way to expose kids to programming. While the motto is “Anybody can learn,” this exercise definitely seemed catered to younger kids-hence the Angry Bird. And this makes everything a heck of a lot easier. And it becomes more like a flow chart than trying to understand a foreign syntax and tinkering to make it work. In the end, no matter what they say, you’re not technically coding with blockly. And then, actually, puzzle 18 left me a bit confused. Whew.Īlso, I found the first several lessons to be slightly boring. Finally once the Zombie came into play, it picked up. And it appears that the Zombie moves a bit faster than the Angry Bird. Luckily, though, in lesson 12 the puzzle switches to one with a Zombie. One of the biggest annoyances for me was how long it took that Angry Bird to move around. However, I did not watch every single instructional video. In the end, it only took me about thirty minutes to make it through all 20 puzzles. (There are also some less-famous people, too.) For instance, Zuckerberg talk about loops. Throughout the 20 puzzles there little video clips featuring celebrities like Gates and Zuckerberg to explain concepts. Translated into code, it looks something like: Under these blocks, though, is Javascript. (Then again, I’m not a real programmer!) But basically you move the blocks around to give directions to the Angry Bird on how to reach the pig. However, I have never heard of it till now. On  they say that real programmers use blockly. Specifically, what direction to move to reach the green pig.

one hour of code one hour of code

And instead of actually writing code, you use blockly to tell the program, or the Angry Bird here, what to do. The course is broken down into 20 puzzles (an example of one is shown below). “Write Your First Computer Program” Tutorial Structure So I decided to take on the “Write Your First Computer Program” option - the only one that appears to be directly through. Ultimately, I chose to keep it traditional.

ONE HOUR OF CODE CODE

In any case, I noticed some of the hour of code choices don’t even require a computer-which I thought was neat and really opened up the doors for everyone to get involved. But, in general, I am curious on the ways some of these organizations or groups get funding (aside from private schools with massive endowments like MIT). This makes me wonder if makes any money from promoting these other resources… This is not an area I will go into. So, when you click that option, it takes you to the providers site. All the other tutorials given reference come from outside sources like Codecademy, MIT, Tynker, KhanAcademy, etc. Well, turns out, it seems like there is only one course – the “ Write Your First Computer Program” option. For some reason I thought there was only one. I never knew this, but there are lots of course options to pick from. I didn’t need to login or give any personal information whatsoever. So, what did I end up learning after doing the hour of code challenge? Beginning the Hour of Code Challenge Besides, one hour is only 1/24 of my day. Now I want to try out as many online tutorials / videos / guides as I can. Truthfully, I never had any plans on doing the hour of code online. It was for kids, right? Taking on the Hour of Code Challenge I didn’t think this hour of code movement had any relevance to me and my goals. However, when I started, I jumped right into a Udacity course. In fact, it played a huge inspiration in me getting off my lazy butt and try coding out. Needless to say, ’s mission to have every student exposed to computer science was impressive. But Will.i.Am? And Chris Bosh? What were these dudes doing here?!

one hour of code

All of these celebrities are promoting kids to learn how to code?” Sure, Bill Gates and Mark Zuckerberg were no shockers. I was somewhere in Thailand and, after watching, was completely blown away. I remember when I first saw the promotional video.






One hour of code